Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-03 - 11:26 a.m.

I've been doing a writing exercise to try to unblock my creativity. I wrote 10 lines of poetry for 7 days. Just wrote whatever without looking back. I'll be going over them to see if I can create any good of it.

Here's the raw spewage:

Day 1
-----------------
Sadness, darkness
Fills the sky
Wandering bandits
passing by
Cliffs of doom
Sprites of hate
Hunt me down
Meet my fate
Slowly climbing
Trail of hope
Trudging onward
Lost, perhaps
or nope!

Day 2
------------------
Fountains of despair spew into the air
Tossing the spray of lonliness on passersby
Do not tary too close or for too long
The deep waters sing a song that snares
Run, run out into the sunshine
Hear the calling of life and breath
Dance and laugh and rejoice
Turn away from the dark pain and sadness
Away from the maiden lurking in the shadows
Who's hand still grips the blade of love betrayed
Turn away so that you do not see
The small smile on her perfect face

Day 3
----------------------
Smiles and laughter
Singing and poems
the bards and skalds
keep our spirits up

Challenging, playful
song and rhyme
remind us of hope
History and love

Wit and satire
Rhythm and beat
Shows us our follies
Foibles and pride

Honor the singers
Musicians, performers
Enriching our lives
>with lessons and fun

Day 4
---------------------
Trumpets call the fallen
Over the hill to home
Down in the marshlands of sorrow
Kinfolk and loved ones do roam
Time and eternity await them
Twinkling stars of evernight
Look up to the heavens agleaming
Smile of the goddess to greet you
Gathering her children like flowers
Rest in peace and pleasure
Everlasting, ever after, ever home

Day 5
-------------------------
Hacking and slashing
Burning and bashing
Dungeon crawlers unite
Through crypts and sewers
We kill, maim and loot
Treasure upon treasure we seek
With axes and maces
We wreak havoc in all places
Seeking money and fame
Broadswords of slaying
will hack and cause mayhem
And then we will take all the gold
Triumph over evil for profit and fun

Day 6
--------------------------
Quiet reflection
Sit by the lake
Inward turning
Breath slow and deep
What am I seeking

Dreams come and go
Fly soft on the wind
Pondering joy
And so I begin

Day 7
---------------------------
Laughing winds sweep down the plain
Stiring leaves, grass and grain

Music of rainfall on the rooftop
Leading the listner to dreamland

Sunlight's warm tendrils
Play through hair and on cheek

Night's dark curtain
Drapes across the horizon

Starlight twinkles
In my eye

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!