Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-29 - 11:58

Thought I'd muse on this a little. I am not a Peer and not likely ever to be one. So my opinions are looking from the outside.

Yes, Peers are held to a higher standard. But I think everyone should treat others with courtesy and respect.
My expectation of someone who is a Peer is that I will be able to approach that person and get advice or information about a topic or a reference to someone else who may have the information that I seek. Peers have generally been in the Society for a while so I am confident that I can get interesting stories about the history of the SCA and/or various Kingdoms. If I am at an event and at a loss, I feel that I an generally approach a Peer for a pointer to a possible volunteer opportunity (assuming I can't find the autocrat or other person in charge of a specific area).
As for respect, I will show respect for the title. My personal respect for the person, however, must be earned. But that is true with how I treat all people.

Hm. More musings later....

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!