Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-05 - 19:51

What a day. I'm pooped. Stayed up late trying to fix my computer and watch Black Hawk Down. See, Jay thought "upgrading" to Windows XP would make hotblack (his computer) run games better (we only us Windows for games, we do all other stuff using linux). So, he installed it and it worked. Then we thought that perhaps we could make zaphod (my computer) run games better. And, well, it didn't. I am convinced that it is because we named the computer zaphod and Zaphod Beeblebrox is a flake so the computer is flaky. Always has been actually. Anyway, Jay decided that zaphod needed more memory. So we went to Fry's and bought 512mb of memory (for cheap because Jay is like that). While there, Jay decides that hotblack could use a new faster cpu so get a cheap faster cpu. Home again and install the memory in zaphod and the cpu in hotblack. Uh oh. So we take out the 128 mb and leave zaphod with the spiffy 512. And we put the new cpu in zaphod because hotblack choked on it.

Now, we have to put all the bits back because I have a stupid case that requires everything to be removed in order to do anything like put in a memory stick. So finally, we get zaphod put back together. and well, it sort of works. Kinda.

*sigh*

So far, I think it is better today. fingaled some bios settings and things seem to be running okay. I think we should rename it Trillian so it will continue to work.


Work. I finally got some training with my new duties. Liz is going back to school in NY and her last day is Friday. So I really should learn about the stuff she does before then. With any luck, I'll be getting an offer of a perm position soon. Finally. But then I'll have to decide if the pay and bennies are worth the hassle or if I should move on. I suspect I should have moved on a while ago. But a regular paycheck has been very handy while we are recovering from Jay's lay off (shortly at 9-11). Things are looking up though. And I really want to go back to school. I could do so much more if I had formal training, I think. I love working with data and databases.

*sigh*

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!