Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-18 - 06:09

My first week of perm employment featured three 12-13 hr days. Whee! I think I'm getting a handle on my new duties though. It's just going to take some time and dedication to get caught up and stay caught up.

This weekend was mostly movies and hanging out. And Sunday, we had our yard done! Well worth the money. The yard guys looked so proud and grinned at the look on my face. Our palms are neatly trimmed. Our hedge is trimmed and no longer attacking the front door. The weeds have been pulled out of the rocks (we have a desert landscape in the front). Now all I want is for those two patches of prickly pear to be removed! But that will be expensive and later.

Movies we watched: Back to the Future (Part 1 & 2, Part 3 didn't record), A Fist Full of Dollars, For a Few Dollars More, The Good, The Bad and the Ugly, Where Eagles Dare, Relax...It's Just Sex, we started watching Hocus Pocus but gave up because it was just bad. I'm sure I'm missing one or two. We also watched a few episodes of Sex & The City (we have DVDs of those).

Oh well, back to the grind. Gotta get gas this week sometime. That will be an adventure. The pipeline from Texas was shut down due to a rupture. No ETA on when it will be repaired. Gas prices here have shot up and some stations are running out (due to panic buying). The amount from the western pipeline was increased and trucks are coming up from Tucson with more gas so really, the shortages aren't severe. However, some in the local media are spreading fear and confusion about the whole thing. So, some people are topping off frequently. Combined with a distribution slow down, this is causing shortages at some stations. *feh*

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!