Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-11 - 09:24

I finally managed a 40 hr work week! Yay.
Next week, though, is deadline week so it's not likely to happen again until the following week. (assuming we actually hit the deadline and everything goes well).

I'll be doing something different the following week as well. Duties will be shifting until we figure out how and if we can get all necessary tasks done with the number of folks we have in our dept.
Me, I think we need another person even if only part time. But I'm not management and I don't get to make that decision.
I think I'll see about doing something sociable soon. It's been a while since I've hung out with friends.
If nothing else, I'll drag Jay out to a movie so we can use those movie tickets my supervisor gave me.
Remember that computer problem I had? Well, the saga continues. The monitor that I thought was fried, isn't. Yay! My new motherboard runs great. However, earlier this week, I was fiddling around and my screen went all wonky and then my computer went silent. I rebooted and got the blinky cursor of doom. Uh-oh. Bad hard drive? Dunno. It's late and I give it up for the night. Jay fiddles more. The next day, I fiddle some as well. Jay tries the hard drive repair disk. (and manages to break my keyboard but that's okay, I wanted a USB keyboard anyhow so I stop at Fry's on the way home to get one). Anyway, the hard drives seem just peachy. So Jay replaces the cables. Ta da! Almost there. We reinstall linux (well, an upgrade actually). And life is good again. Mostly. I still had some tweaking to do. Just piddly stuff. And I can't use trn anymore. *pout* I guess I'll get used to slrn.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!