Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-03 - 10:32

Nothing much new going on. I did get to spend the past week covering for a coworker who was on vacation. Fun, fun fun. Not much of my regular duties got done. And Thursday, I was alone for most of the day (my manager was out tending to her husband, one of my team was visiting back home in West Virginia and the other one left early to go on a visit to bond with her fiance's family---she's getting married next month and moving to Flag afterwards). So Thursday was kind of busy and stressful. Friday was just me and my manager. Also busy but less stressful.



Jay still loves his job and hates his commute. I really wish we could move down there. Maybe next month, he can start staying down there a couple of times a week. I think we could afford it.



So, I keep dreaming about being back in school. I think my subconscience is trying to tell me something. I should probably do something about it.



Reason #42 of why I haven't played much here in Atenveldt: I was reading the SouthWind and saw a list of requirements for entering Crown Tourney. Among more sensible requirements was "The unbelted combatant must have a belted fighter willing to speak for him/her at the time of the Crown List." and "To have reigned as Crown, Coronet or as a Territorial Baron or Baroness, or served actively as an officer for an official group in the SCA, for at least six months".


I think these folks take themselves way too seriously. I've met some really friendly sorts but I just don't know that I could ever feel comfortable with some of the rules/expectations here. The whole emphasis on being part of a household and apprenticed, squired or proteged to a Peer. *eek* I like being independent and pitching in whereever there is a need.

In the end, I doubt any of this will hold me back. I love the SCA and have seen the best of it and want to strive to bring that to others.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!